film tv & new media / news / Toronto : 14 French productions and coproductions already announced at TIFF 2016 press conference

Toronto : 14 French productions and coproductions already announced at TIFF 2016 press conference

July 26, 2016 | By francecanadaculture Film
Piers Handling, CEO and Director of TIFF, and Cameron Bailey, Artistic Director of the Toronto International Film festival, announced the first round of titles premiering in the Gala and Special Presentations programmes of the 41st Toronto International Film Festival.
The 41st Toronto International Film Festival runs from September 8 to 18, 2016.
Of the 19 Galas and 49 Special Presentations announced, 14 are French productions and coproductions.

Galas :
  • Opening Night Film : The magnificent seven by Antoine Fuqua (USA)
  • A Monster Calls by J.A. Bayona (USA, Spain) starring Sigourney Weaver
  • Arrival by Denis Villeneuve (USA) starring Amy Adams & Jeremy Renner
  • Deepwater horizon by Peter Berg (USA) starring Mark Wahlberg, Kurt Russell & John Malkovich
  • The Headhunter's Calling by Mark Williams (Canada) starring Gerard Butler
  • The Journey is the Destination by Bronwen Hughes (United Kingdom, South Africa) starring Ella Purnell, Maria Bello
  • JT + The Tennessee Kids by Jonathan Demme (USA)
  • LBJ by Rob Reiner starring Woody Harrelson, Jennifer Jason Leigh & Bill Pullman
  • Lion by Garth Davis (Australia) starring Dev Patel, Nicole Kidman, Rooney Mara
  • Loving by Jeff Nichols (USA) starring Joel Edgerton, Ruth Negga
  • Planetarium by Rebecca Zlotowski (France, Belgium) starring Natalie Portman, Lily-Rose Depp, Emmanuel Salinger
  • Queen of Katwe by Mira Nair (South Africa, Ouganda) starring David Oyelowo, Lupita Nyong’o
  • Snowden by Oliver Stone (Germany, USA) starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt
  • Their finest by Lone Scherfig (United Kingdom) starring Gemma Arterton
  • The Rolling Stones Olé Olé Olé! : A Trip Across Latin America by Paul Dugdale (United Kingdom)
  • The Secret Scripture by Jim Sheridan (Ireland) starring Vanessa Redgrave, Rooney Mara
  • Strange Weather by Katherine Dieckmann (USA) starring Holly Hunter, Carrie Coon
  • A united kingdom by Amma Asante (United Kingdom) starring David Oyelowo et Rosamund Pike
  • Closing Night Film : The edge of seventeen by Kelly Fremon Craig (USA)

Special Presentations :
  • The age of shadows by Kim Jee-woon (South Korea) starring Song Kang-Ho & Gong Yoo
  • All I see is you by Marc Forster (Thailand) starring Blake Lively & Jason Clarke
  • American Honey by Andrea Arnold (USA) starring Shia LaBeouf & Sasha Lane
  • American Pastoral by Ewan McGregor (USA) starring Ewan McGregor, Jennifer Connelly & Dakota Fanning
  • Asura : the city of madness by Kim Sung-soo (South Korea) starring Hwang Jung-min
  • Barakah meets Barakah by Mahmoud Sabbagh (Saudi Arabia) starring Fatima Al Banawi
  • Barry by Vikram Gandhi (USA) starring Devon Terrell & Ellar Coltrane
  • The birth of a nation by Nate Parker (USA) starringArmie Hammer
  • Birth of a dragon by George Nolfi (USA/China/Canada) starring Billy Magnussen
  • Bleed for this by Ben Younger (USA) starring Aaron Eckhart
  • Blue Jay by Alex Lehmann (USA) starring Mark Duplass & Sarah Paulson
  • Brimstone by Martin Koolhoven (Netherlands, Germany, France, Belgium, Sweden, United Kingdom) starring Guy Pearce
  • Brotherhood by Noel Clarke (United Kingdom) starring Noel Clarke
  • Carrie Pilby by Susan Johnson (USA) starring Bel Powley
  • Catfight by Onur Tukel (USA) starring Anne Heche, Sandra Oh & Alicia Silverstone
  • City of tiny lights by Pete Travis (United Kingdom) starring Riz Ahmed
  • The commune by Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark, Sweden, Netherlands) starring Trine Dyrholm
  • Deguerrotype (Le secret de la chambre noire) by Kiyoshi Kurosawa (France, Japan, Belgium) starring Tahar Rahim, Constance Rousseau, Olivier Gourmet, Mathieu Amalric
  • A death in the Gunj by Konkona Sensharma (India) starring Vikrant Massey
  • Denial by Mick Jackson (USA, United Kingdom) starring Rachel Weisz
  • Elle by Paul Verhoeven (France) starring Isabelle Huppert, Laurent Lafitte, Anne Consigny
  • Foreign body by Raja Amari (Tunisia, France) starring Hiam Abbass
  • Frantz by François Ozon (France, Germany) starring Paula Beer, Pierre Niney
  • The handmaiden by Park Chan-wook (South Korea) starring Kim Min-hee, Kim Tae-ri & Ha Jung-woo
  • Harmonium by Kôji Fukada (Japan, France) starring Tadanobu Asano
  • I am not Madame Bovary by Feng Xiaogang (China) starring Fan Bingbing
  • The journey by Nick Hamm (United Kingdom) starring Timothy Spall
  • King of the dancehall by Nick Cannon (USA, Jamaica) starring Nick Cannon, Whoopi Goldberg & Busta Rhymes
  • La La Land by Damien Chazelle (USA) starring Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone et JK Simmons
  • The limehouse golem de Juan Carlos Medina (United Kingdom) starring Bill Nighy
  • Manchester by the sea by Kenneth Lonergan (USA) starring Casey Affleck, Michelle Williams & Kyle Chandler
  • Mascots by Christopher Guest (USA) starring Jennifer Coolidge
  • Maudie by Aisling Walsh (Canada, Ireland) starring Sally Hawkins & Ethan Hawke
  • Neruda by Pablo Larrain (Chili, Argentina, Spain, France) starring Gael Garcia Bernal
  • Nocturnal animals by Tom Ford (USA, United Kingdom) starring Amy Adams, Jake Gyllenhaal, Michael Shannon
  • The oath by Baltasar Kormakur (Iceland) starring Gisli Om Garoarsson
  • Orphan by Arnaud des Pallières (France) starring Adèle Haenel, Adèle Exarchopoulos, Gemma Arterton, Sergi Lopez
  • Paris can wait by Eleanor Coppola (USA) starring Diane Lane, Alec Baldwin & Arnaud Viard
  • Paterson by Jim Jarmusch (USA) starring Adam Driver & Golshifteh Farahani
  • The salesman by Asghar Farhadi (Iran, France) starring Shahab Hosseini
  • Salt and fire by Werner Herzog (Germany, USA, France, Mexico) starring Michael Shannon, Gael Garcia Bernal & Veronica Ferres
  • Sing by Garth Jennings (USA, France) starring Matthew McConaughey, Reese Witherspoon
  • Souvenir by Bavo Defurne (Belgium, Luxembourg, France) starring Isabelle Huppert
  • Things to Come by Mia Hansen-Love (France) starring Isabelle Huppert
  • Toni Erdmann by Maren Ade (Germany) starring Peter Simonischek & Sandra Huller
  • Trespass against us by Adam Smith (United Kingdom) starring Michael Fassbender
  • Una by Benedict Andrews (United Kingdom) starring Rooney Mara & Ben Mendelsohn
  • Unless by Alan Gilsenan (Canada, Ireland) starring Catherine Keener
  • The wasted times by Cheng Er (China) starring Zhang Ziyi
The rest of the selection will be announced in the following weeks.