On November 25, the Residence of France hosted the 17th L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Scholarship Award Ceremony.

In partnership with the France-Canada Research Fund (FCRF), two scholarships of $5,000 each were awarded to two Canadian doctoral students whose research is part of French-Canadian scientific projects supported by the FCRF.
After a presentation of the program by Ambassador Kareen RISPAL, Mrs Ruby Heap, Co-President of the FCRF, awarded the scholarships to the two 2019 laureates:

  •  Creighton Avery, PhD Candidate, Department of Anthropology, McMaster University, whose research focuses on the transition to adulthood in the Roman Empire.
  •  Krysten Rutherford, PhD Candidate, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University, who is working on quantifying the inorganic carbon cycle.


Creighton Avery, 2019 laureate of the l’Oréal FCRF scholarship, and Ruby Heap, co-president of the FCRF

Krysten Rutherford, 2019 laureate of the l’Oréal FCRF scholarship, and Ruby Heap, co-president of the FCRF









Since 2013, the France-Canada Research Fund has been partnering with L’Oréal Canada to encourage and develop scientific and academic exchanges between France and Canada in all fields of research, from the pure sciences to the humanities and social sciences. The L’Oréal – France Canada Research Fund Fellowships are offered in addition to the annual FCRF fellowships.

Created in 2000 by the Embassy of France in Canada and a consortium of 16 Canadian universities, the FCRF is a key instrument for French-Canadian scientific cooperation. In its 19 years of existence, the Fund has funded more than 300 joint research projects. Today, it has 20 member universities and continues to support some 20 new projects each year led by French and Canadian teams that have never collaborated before.

2019 L’Oréal Women and Science Scholarship Winners